Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: The listing of awards for films is annoying.

1. Top | #1
    Archived
    Total Posts

The listing of awards for films is annoying.

Awards mean nothing. It doesn't mean the film is any good. It doesn't mean anybody liked it. That it had artistic merit. It means literally nothing. It's got to do with the people involved. I used to be an event manager. For just these sorts of things. An award show is a party. Partly to make the talent happy, and partly for publicity. The award itself is just a fetish. A symbol to hang the party upon. Nobody cares. It certainly doesn't matter a damn who wins the award. The big prize is being nominated. It means you were invited to the party. Which is what it's all about. Winners and losers all share in that glory. But most people invited aren't involved in any of the films up for the award. It's just industry folk. Friends and family. Slutty girls. Rock starts. Tall trannies. Clowns. Well dressed gay stylists. Etc. The cool people. It's only the first time award winners are teary eyed on stage. The next time they've wisened up to the great "honour" they've been bestowed.

Yet, when I look up a movie or a person in the industry the awards it has won is the most prominent feature. On Wikipedia a film makers filmography is an extra click away. Which is always the most interesting thing about them. Yet, their awards is always on the front page, taking up space. I promise that I will never care about any award in history ever. All that "information" can just please go away now. Once the party has come and gone, there is no reason to keep reminding people about the flimsy excuse to throw that party.

Why this obsession about awards on the Internet? I don't get it. If you weren't even at the party why would you ever care? And why annoy me with listing them EVERYWHERE possible?

2. Top | #2
    the baby-eater
    Archived
    Total Posts
    Why one should not put much stock in awards, in any field: