Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Load libraries in JS without html

  1. Top | #1
    Quantum Hot Dog Kharakov's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    OCCaUSA
    Posts
    4,370
    Archived
    3,383
    Total Posts
    7,753
    Rep Power
    77

    Load libraries in JS without html

    In Visual Code. Is visual code designed to be annoying?

    I just want some nice autocompletes, and to use some code checkers.

    Gotta go.

  2. Top | #2
    the baby-eater
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Straya
    Posts
    3,988
    Archived
    1,750
    Total Posts
    5,738
    Rep Power
    39
    You mean Visual Studio Code? Works fine for me.

  3. Top | #3
    Quantum Hot Dog Kharakov's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    OCCaUSA
    Posts
    4,370
    Archived
    3,383
    Total Posts
    7,753
    Rep Power
    77
    Assume I've never used VSC, but can code in notepad++. I've already broke it to the point that I can't get it to pull up a firefox window to show my code.

    It's easy to do in notepad++.

    I suppose I'll just use visual code, and refresh the file in a browser window when I update the code. I can't get ESLint to work either.. mehh...

    I'll keep messing around. As long as I can edit the code, it's good enough.

  4. Top | #4
    the baby-eater
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Straya
    Posts
    3,988
    Archived
    1,750
    Total Posts
    5,738
    Rep Power
    39
    Quote Originally Posted by Kharakov View Post
    Assume I've never used VSC, but can code in notepad++. I've already broke it to the point that I can't get it to pull up a firefox window to show my code.

    It's easy to do in notepad++.
    There's probably an extension for that.

    Personally I just Alt+Tab, Ctrl+R.

    Quote Originally Posted by Kharakov View Post
    I suppose I'll just use visual code, and refresh the file in a browser window when I update the code. I can't get ESLint to work either.. mehh...

    I'll keep messing around. As long as I can edit the code, it's good enough.
    For ESLint integration you need the extension dbaeumer.vscode-eslint. It will use your project's local version of eslint or fallback to your global version.

  5. Top | #5
    Veteran Member KeepTalking's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    St. Louis Metro East
    Posts
    3,564
    Archived
    3,057
    Total Posts
    6,621
    Rep Power
    42
    Quote Originally Posted by Kharakov View Post
    In Visual Code. Is visual code designed to be annoying?
    Every IDE is annoying until you get the hang of it. I use VS Code, IntelliJ IDEA, Xcode, Android Studio, and STS (Eclipse) depending on project needs. I actually like VS Code better than most, and do most of my front end JS development with it. Xcode is the worst, but if you are going to do iOS development it is a necessary evil.

    Quote Originally Posted by Kharakov View Post
    I just want some nice autocompletes, and to use some code checkers.
    Linters are designed to be annoying, far more than any IDE. ES Lint nags at you about everything, but it will help you adhere to best practices, for what that is worth.

  6. Top | #6
    Quantum Hot Dog Kharakov's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    OCCaUSA
    Posts
    4,370
    Archived
    3,383
    Total Posts
    7,753
    Rep Power
    77
    Quote Originally Posted by bigfield View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Kharakov View Post
    Assume I've never used VSC, but can code in notepad++. I've already broke it to the point that I can't get it to pull up a firefox window to show my code. It's easy to do in notepad++.
    There's probably an extension for that.

    Personally I just Alt+Tab, Ctrl+R.
    That works, I hit f5. However, I wanted an easy way, that if I write something new, I don't have to go to the project directory to load it. I don't want to have to have some template file either (some blanket html that I load other html files in, so I can just refresh that one).

    I want to bring it up from within VSC. I want to hit a hotkey and have it load the code in Firefox.

    And loading it from notepad++ isn't as easy as I'd like either (because I don't know what hotkey to look for).

    I can bring up a directory to load stuff, if I set current working directory, but I can't find a hotkey to load the file of the current window in firefox.


    It ultimately will cost me thousands of seconds over the years.

  7. Top | #7
    the baby-eater
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Straya
    Posts
    3,988
    Archived
    1,750
    Total Posts
    5,738
    Rep Power
    39
    Quote Originally Posted by Kharakov View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by bigfield View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Kharakov View Post
    Assume I've never used VSC, but can code in notepad++. I've already broke it to the point that I can't get it to pull up a firefox window to show my code. It's easy to do in notepad++.
    There's probably an extension for that.

    Personally I just Alt+Tab, Ctrl+R.
    That works, I hit f5. However, I wanted an easy way, that if I write something new, I don't have to go to the project directory to load it. I don't want to have to have some template file either (some blanket html that I load other html files in, so I can just refresh that one).

    I want to bring it up from within VSC. I want to hit a hotkey and have it load the code in Firefox.

    And loading it from notepad++ isn't as easy as I'd like either (because I don't know what hotkey to look for).

    I can bring up a directory to load stuff, if I set current working directory, but I can't find a hotkey to load the file of the current window in firefox.

    It ultimately will cost me thousands of seconds over the years.
    If you want to load the JS in the browser so you can test it manually, you are going to need HTML documents that serve as test fixtures for your JS files.

    This might help you get the Notepad++ behaviour in VSCode, or something better.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •