Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 16 of 16

Thread: Plex Server on Rasp Pi

  1. Top | #11
    Elder Contributor
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Located 100 miles east of A in America
    Posts
    31,338
    Archived
    42,473
    Total Posts
    73,811
    Rep Power
    100
    In my continuing blog to myself...

    Upgraded to a Raspberry Pi 4. Performance is good, however!!!, I had a problem after installing Linux. With Noobs, I was able to select the OS while having the device plugged via HDMI into my receiver, which I believe is 4K ready. However, after booting up after installing the OS, black screen. After several minutes, it finally showed the screen but it was two overlays, one with a full screen image and another the top half being repeated on the bottom half of the screen. WTF?

    I checked the video and it was outputting to 4K, didn't need 4K. Made change, but wasn't able to accept it quick enough, and then went back to black screen. On a hunch, plugged it into the 4K tv directly, worked fine. Made it step down to 1080p, accepted the change, plugged into receiver, it works.

    Got everything re-sync'd with the new device, streams Captain Marvel. I had 4 moments of buffering during the movie, but that was it.

  2. Top | #12
    Elder Contributor
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Located 100 miles east of A in America
    Posts
    31,338
    Archived
    42,473
    Total Posts
    73,811
    Rep Power
    100
    I noticed that my Roku 3920x has a "low" or "weak" WIFI signal. The Roku is sitting a floor above the router, which is almost directly below it. While this Roku allowed more Codecs, this might have also been a potential issue, as many seem to complain about the WIFI strength. I tried playing Incredibles 2 at about 30 MBps and it stumbled on it. I've played a 40 MBps film, and it was fine. So curious.

  3. Top | #13
    Loony Running The Asylum ZiprHead's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Do you like my pretty crown?
    Posts
    24,787
    Archived
    3,034
    Total Posts
    27,821
    Rep Power
    100
    Quote Originally Posted by Jimmy Higgins View Post
    I noticed that my Roku 3920x has a "low" or "weak" WIFI signal. The Roku is sitting a floor above the router, which is almost directly below it. While this Roku allowed more Codecs, this might have also been a potential issue, as many seem to complain about the WIFI strength. I tried playing Incredibles 2 at about 30 MBps and it stumbled on it. I've played a 40 MBps film, and it was fine. So curious.
    Does your router have external antennas? If they're pointing straight up, try tilting them at a 45 degree angle.
    When conservatives realize they cannot win democratically, they will not abandon conservatism. They will abandon democracy.

    Poverty exists not because we cannot feed the poor but because we can't satisfy the rich.

  4. Top | #14
    Contributor skepticalbip's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Searching for reality along the long and winding road
    Posts
    6,368
    Archived
    12,976
    Total Posts
    19,344
    Rep Power
    71
    Quote Originally Posted by ZiprHead View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Jimmy Higgins View Post
    I noticed that my Roku 3920x has a "low" or "weak" WIFI signal. The Roku is sitting a floor above the router, which is almost directly below it. While this Roku allowed more Codecs, this might have also been a potential issue, as many seem to complain about the WIFI strength. I tried playing Incredibles 2 at about 30 MBps and it stumbled on it. I've played a 40 MBps film, and it was fine. So curious.
    Does your router have external antennas? If they're pointing straight up, try tilting them at a 45 degree angle.
    And pointing toward the outside wall to give better coverage inside the house.

  5. Top | #15
    Elder Contributor
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Located 100 miles east of A in America
    Posts
    31,338
    Archived
    42,473
    Total Posts
    73,811
    Rep Power
    100
    No antennas. I have much better Wifi signal with the newish router I got when I went Fiber. So I know it isn’t the router, though I did reposition a little a year or so ago when I realized I sorta had it in a dead zone.

    The 3920x has a rep for wifi issues apparently.

  6. Top | #16
    Elder Contributor
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Located 100 miles east of A in America
    Posts
    31,338
    Archived
    42,473
    Total Posts
    73,811
    Rep Power
    100
    So to finalize my RaspPi Plex Servers by an Idiot series, I likely didn't need to get the RaspPi 4 (embarrassed about the little b and big B thing, USB 2.0 might have been just fine), but I'm not wasting anymore time to prove that much. The Roku 3920X was definitely the issue. The trouble occurs when streaming. Usually streams are 10 Mbps or less until you jump up to 4K (or you stream ripped Blu-Rays to get the MKVs, which don't include any additional compression). My only 4K streamer is located 5 to 10 feet from my router, and it works great.

    And the Roku 3920X works great at streaming... compressed HD. But the second I needed to go up to 20 Mbps or 40 Mbps, it became iffy. I shifted the router position a little, and I moved the Roku underneath the table, leaving only the floor between it and the Router, and that improved the signal, but not by much. Going to the System Network settings of the Roku confirmed that it just didn't have enough signal for 30 Mbps. The odd thing was, I had good results with some higher bitrate files (40+ Mbps) and flunking on (30+ or even high 20s). No idea why that was, unless the bitrate in the file was a mistake, I assume it is metadata in the file. And sometimes, it could play a movie 1/2 to 2/3's through, and then choke. Likely the Wifi.

    Long story short... wait... too late for that. Much too late, ethernet. I need ethernet! So I got the Roku Ultra, which has the ethernet, and it works well now... just like the other times I said it did, and then it didn't. Things choked up on playing Guardians of the Galaxy 2, but I saw that Plex was trying to transcode. I undid that, allowed for MPEG-2 for the older DVDs, and... well, it should work. I'm out of kinks in the armor really. One thing I thought was weird, I checked the signal in for the ethernet connection and it reported 6 of 9 strength (80 Mbps rated capacity). ??? It's wired!

    I'll follow up with my next post when something else goes wrong. Until then, remember, don't do as I say... or do... ask someone else for help.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •