Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Hard Drives in Copy Machines

  1. Top | #1
    Veteran Member NobleSavage's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    127.0.0.1
    Posts
    3,079
    Archived
    1,363
    Total Posts
    4,442
    Rep Power
    63

    Hard Drives in Copy Machines


  2. Top | #2
    Cyborg with a Tiara
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Recluse
    Posts
    7,468
    Archived
    9,040
    Total Posts
    16,508
    Rep Power
    81
    I can't watch the video, but wow, that could catch and keep a lot of stuff that should have higher security!

  3. Top | #3
    Administrator Mumbles's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    1,443
    Archived
    5,536
    Total Posts
    6,979
    Rep Power
    48
    Choppier security has been a potential issue for a while - decades, in certain lines of work. But I'm a bit surprised encryption isn't free of charge. Although, if the purchasers openly don't care...

  4. Top | #4
    Contributor barbos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Mlky Way galaxy
    Posts
    9,644
    Archived
    8,047
    Total Posts
    17,691
    Rep Power
    61
    Do they still use HDs in copy machines/printers?
    I know in the past they did, but now with current RAM prices seems pointless.
    By the way, RAM can retain information for a few seconds a minute at room temperature I think.
    And much longer if cooled with Liquid nitrogen.
    So CIA can literally take the info from your notebook with them.

  5. Top | #5
    Mrs Frizzle gmbteach's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    At home, when I am not at work.
    Posts
    9,708
    Archived
    1,499
    Total Posts
    11,207
    Rep Power
    38
    WOW! I am ashamed to admit that I had no idea about the hard-drives. Lesson learned here. Especially as I am going to be moving doctor's surgeries very shortly.

  6. Top | #6
    Veteran Member NobleSavage's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    127.0.0.1
    Posts
    3,079
    Archived
    1,363
    Total Posts
    4,442
    Rep Power
    63
    Also consider how many copy machines are hooked up to the LAN: http://www.zdnet.com/hackers-use-goo...rs-3039167848/

  7. Top | #7
    Contributor barbos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Mlky Way galaxy
    Posts
    9,644
    Archived
    8,047
    Total Posts
    17,691
    Rep Power
    61
    Quote Originally Posted by NobleSavage View Post
    Also consider how many copy machines are hooked up to the LAN: http://www.zdnet.com/hackers-use-goo...rs-3039167848/
    Some of them could be connected directly to the NSA

  8. Top | #8
    Contributor Nice Squirrel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,083
    Archived
    20,921
    Total Posts
    27,004
    Rep Power
    63
    Could?


    Bwahahahahahahahahahaha!

  9. Top | #9
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Nevada
    Posts
    24,066
    Archived
    96,752
    Total Posts
    120,818
    Rep Power
    95
    Yup, the big machines have hard drives to facilitate the complex copy jobs. RAM won't cut it because who knows how big a job they may be asked to hold.

    Now, if you want really nasty there were some copiers with a nasty software bug that could actually end up changing figures on the paper being copied in some fairly narrow circumstances.

    The problem was image compression. One of the basic ways of compressing data is to look for repeated patterns, store only one copy and replace the others with a token saying what pattern to use. When it's text you accept no errors, this works fine. When you're dealing with images it's always a tradeoff between how faithfully you reproduce the original and how much you can compress the file. Unfortunately, the compressor was too aggressive. When faced with numbers in a small font that happened to line up with the cells being used by the compressor it could decide "I've seen this before" when the other cell actually contained say a 6 instead of an 8.

  10. Top | #10
    Veteran Member NobleSavage's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    127.0.0.1
    Posts
    3,079
    Archived
    1,363
    Total Posts
    4,442
    Rep Power
    63
    ^^^What about the $500 ones for SOHO?

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-15-2019, 08:13 PM
  2. Suicide machines?
    By lpetrich in forum Morals & Principles
    Replies: 64
    Last Post: 02-18-2019, 11:44 PM
  3. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-24-2017, 04:59 PM
  4. What drives US debt?
    By ksen in forum Political Discussions
    Replies: 208
    Last Post: 05-01-2016, 06:03 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •